## BOARD OF VISITORS 2025-26 STUDENT SELECTION COMMITTEE MINUTES

### March 17, 2025

The Selection Committee for the 2025-26 Student Representatives to the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors held an all-virtual meeting on Monday, March 17, 2025, at 11:00 a.m. for the purpose of interviewing candidates for the 2025-26 Undergraduate and Graduate/Professional Student Representatives to the Board. The meeting was livestreamed for the public.

The voting members of the ad hoc Selection Committee include the members of the Executive Committee and the Academic, Research, and Student Affairs Committee. Non-voting members include the current student representatives and the Vice President for Student Affairs, Dean of the Graduate School, and Vice President for Policy and Governance/Secretary to the Board.

### Present

Edward H. Baine (Rector) Sandy Davis Nancy Dye William Holtzman Donald Horsley Anna L. James J. Pearson Jeanne Stosser

## Absent

David Calhoun (Vice Rector) Starlette Johnson Letitia Long Ryan McCarthy Jim Miller John Rocovich

Also present at the meeting were Chelsea Haines (Chief of Staff attending for Frances Keene, Vice President for Student Affairs), Leslie Orellana (Undergraduate Student Representative), Kim O'Rourke (Vice President for Policy and Governance and Secretary to the Board), William Poland (Graduate/Professional Student Representative), and Aimée Surprenant (Dean of the Graduate School).

During the public comment session, there were 3 concurrent viewers on YouTube and a total of 23 views.

#### \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \*

The meeting was convened at 11:00 a.m. Candidates to be interviewed applied for the position through an on-line process open to all enrolled students. The current student representatives, Leslie Orellana and William Poland, each had organized a screening committee to evaluate the applicants and put forward a list of candidates for the 2025-26 Undergraduate and Graduate/Professional Student Representative positions, respectively, to be interviewed by the BOV Student Selection Committee.

# MOTION TO BEGIN CLOSED MEETING

Dr. Dye made a motion that the Board of Visitors Student Representative Selection Committee convene in a closed meeting, pursuant to § 2.2-3711, (A)(1) <u>Code of Virginia</u>, as amended, for the purpose of interviewing candidates for the positions of undergraduate and graduate/professional student representatives for 2025-26. The motion was seconded by Ms. James and passed unanimously.

The livestream was then suspended.

#### \* \* \* \* \*

# MOTION TO RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

The livestream resumed, and then the following motion was made by Dr. Dye:

**WHEREAS**, the Student Representative Selection Committee of the Board of Visitors of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University has convened a closed meeting on this date pursuant to an affirmative recorded vote and in accordance with the provision of The Virginia Freedom of Information Act; and

**WHEREAS**, Section 2.2-3712 of the <u>Code of Virginia</u> requires a certification by the Board of Visitors that such closed meeting was conducted in conformity with Virginia law;

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Student Selection Committee of the Board of Visitors of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University hereby certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements by Virginia law were discussed in the closed meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed meeting were heard, discussed or considered by the Committee.

The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.

\* \* \* \* \*

During the closed session, the committee conducted interviews of three candidates for the 2025-26 Undergraduate Student Representative and three candidates for the 2025-26 Graduate/Professional Student Representative and selected the finalists to recommend at the full Board meeting on March 25, 2025.

\* \* \* \* \*

The meeting was adjourned at 1:08 p.m.

Submitted by: Kim O'Rourke Secretary to the Board